20140308-191811.jpg

I’m Coming Home!

Thursday marked 3 months since the robbery and fire. However, Friday I received the final document officially dropping all charges and which gives me permission to finally leave the Dominican Republic.

The days of waiting have been humdrum and routine. I felt like the character in Ground Hogs Day. It was easy to forget the day of the week and the date. It was easy to succumb to occasional depression and anxiety. I tried to stay active and to enjoy more of the present moment. That included long walks on the beach, swimming in the ocean, taking kayaking lessons, morning motorcycle rides through the countryside, small conversations with foreigners and locals, giving English classes, people watching, writing, billards and simply laying on the beach and continuing to dream. What will the next chapter of my life be? Where will I go? Where will my dreams take me next?

During my last week in Cabarete I moved in with a couple of Dominican friends in the nearby town called Sabaneta. This allowed me to save money and the opportunity to be in the company of others. I had to fletch water from the backyard well in order to bathe…a humbling experience to say the least. However, I learned the importance of still believing in others and, most importantly, myself! I could not have gone thru this without the continual support of my family, friends and extended community of people I haven’t seen in years…I’m one lucky individual! I appreciate you all and look forward to seeing each and every one of you upon my return.

Due to last minute logistics I have not yet bought my ticket home. I will keep everyone updated. In the mean time, I’ve returned back to Santo Domingo with the family of my good friend, Miguel.

Thanks again for taking the time to read my story!

“What doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger”

2 thoughts on “I’m Coming Home!

  1. Thank God! Been following and was there while your situation was going on. I am so glad you are finished!!! Keep us posted. I know you love the children/education but you may need to take a little break. Regroup… I will be following and keeping in touch! -Mersadies

Leave a Reply

